top of page
  • Writer's pictureTyra Samone

Abide

To abide in something is to accept, keep to, act in accordance with a decision, stand by, or to continue to remain in something. I bet you already know where I'm going with this. In John 15:4, Jesus tells us to remain in Him. "Remain in me and I will remain in you." In many translations, however instead of remain, the word abide is used.


When we invite the Holy Spirit to come into our lives we are opening up space for Him to enter in and remain in us. We are forever saved from hell. We are born again through the work of grace, or salvation. So always remember this Good News. Yet even though we are saved, we can still live in the world ineffectively, not impacting the Kingdom of God, not sharing the word, sharing God's love, showing the grace of the Lord. Now the way we live and bring glory to God is to bear spiritual fruit, walk in freedom, and abide in Christ as He abides in us.


To abide in the Lord is to seek Him daily. To live according to His word. To have a servant heart for others. To share the gospel and make Him known to everyone around. "I am the true grapevine, and my Father is the gardener. He cuts off every branch of mine that doesn't produce fruit, and he prunes the branches that do bear fruit so they will produce even more... Remain in me, and I will remain in you. For a branch cannot produce fruit if it is severed from the vine and you cannot be fruitful unless you remain in me. Yes I am the vine; you are the branches... For apart from me you can do nothing. Anyone who does not remain in me is thrown away like a useless branch and withers. Such branches are gathered into a pile to be burned. But if you remain in me and my words remain in you, you may ask for anything you want, and it will be granted. When you produce much fruit, you are my true disciples." John 15: 1-8


The Lord is the true vine and we are called to receive daily nourishment from Him (the vine) so that we may grow spiritually. Remain in me is repeated many times because it is incredibly important and crucial to our walk with God.


Because we can live by the flesh it is up to you to receive your calling from God. If we live by the flesh, we're not abiding in Christ. Our flesh is our sinful nature which is always at war with our spiritual nature. We cannot produce fruit and walk in the spirit or stay connected to the vine when we live by the flesh. If you have been led to this article and feel a slight tug towards this message just know this is God using my words to call through to you and grab your attention. He is asking you to seek Him, abide in Him, speak to Him daily, pray to Him, tell others about Him... bear fruit and watch as your life produces more than you could ever ask for.



12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page